in ,

Santa to bring some early Christmas cheer to Newcastle!

If you think you’re always run ragged during the festive season, spare a thought for Santa Claus.

And despite the jolly man in the red suit’s hectic silly season schedule, Santa has seen fit to spread some early Christmas cheer to the people of Newcastle.

Yep, that’s right. Santa is leaving the elves in charge of the workshop and will be touching down in our fair city from tomorrow (Wednesday 1 December) until Friday 17 December.

Santa and some of his hardest-working elves will be set up under the trees in Council Street where he will be available for FREE photos. The big man will also be making his way around the Hunter Street Mall, and Darby and King Streets.

In his travels, Santa will be popping into businesses to mingle with customers as well as giving away special vouchers from various inner-city businesses.

This Christmas coup has been made possible by the good people over at theNewcastle Business Improvement Association and board member Taiyo Namba said the initiative was a great way to get people into local businesses.

“We wanted to bring some Christmas cheer to our precinct after what has been a pretty tough year for most,” Taiyo said.

“The Association has collaborated with local small businesses to offer vouchers and other giveaways to be handed out by Santa. Our goal is to get people shopping and supporting our small businesses in the city, not just for Christmas but every day.”

Check out Santa’s festive schedule below.

Wednesday 1 Dec – Santa in Council Street 2-4pm
Thursday 2 Dec – Roving Santa Hunter Street Mall 2 – 4pm
Friday 3 Dec – Roving Santa Darby Street 4 – 6pm

Monday 6 Dec – Santa in Council Street 2 – 4pm
Tuesday 7 Dec – Roving Santa Hunter Street Mall 2 – 4pm
Wednesday 8 Dec – Roving Santa King Street 4 – 6pm
Thursday 9 Dec – Roving Santa Darby Street 4 – 6pm
Friday 10 Dec – Roving Santa Hunter Street Mall 2 – 4pm

Monday 13 Dec – Santa in Council Street 2 – 4pm
Tuesday 14 Dec – Santa in Council Street 2 – 4pm
Wednesday 15 Dec – Roving Santa Darby Street 3 – 5pm
Thursday 16 Dec – Santa in Council Street 2 – 4pm
Friday 15 Dec – Roving Santa King St 4 – 6pm