in

GODLANDS: Adelaide, Ableton & Jatz

We chat to Godlands on tour….

Godlands is a product of old school sounds meeting new school methods. She has been captivating new fans around the globe with her production, performance and aesthetic during her current tour which saw the young artist take to the stage at This That in Newcastle. We caught up for a chat.

NL: What draws you to trap and bass music?

GODLANDS: I just really love how it makes me feel. I always get a huge adrenaline rush when I perform, the music is what pushes me to perform to that next level. It’s heavily hip hop influenced as well which I love — I actually started as a hip hop DJ. So I’ll always drop a few rap tracks in my sets.

NL: Do you think growing up in Adelaide influenced your music?

GODLANDS: I can’t really say, I’m just not sure. Adelaide as a place doesn’t really influence much, but perhaps the way the scene developed there did. The club scene and being around like minded people definitely helped pursue what I do more. It gave me a drive to want to be more, I wanted to prove Adelaide has great talent!

NL: What DAW do you use for recording and playing live? Why’s that your choice?

GODLANDS: Ableton is my go to DAW for sure. I think it’s the DAW that made most sense to me, I found it easier to navigate than Fruity Loops or Logic, but that’s just my personal preference. I awas also taught on Ableton, so that only pushed me further to explore Ableton and stick with it!

NL: We love the cover of Pleasures – where did that come from?

GODLANDS: My artwork is heavily influenced by fashion brands. actually my track Pleasures is named after one of my favourite brands — Pleasures, look them up. At that stage I was really into this racing motif, and had a real race car theme to my artwork and I wanted to tie that in with my visuals. I tend to just trawl through the internet – mostly Instagram and Tumblr – and find inspiration through there. I create a mood board and then work with a designer to help bring that vision to life.

NL: We invite you to a party. Everyone must bring a plate of food to share. What do you make?

GODLANDS: A box of jatz. You can never fail with a box of Jatz. Also i won’t bring a plate because we all know I’ll forget to get it in the morning then it’ll be at your place for ages and i just don’t have that type of responsibility to be collecting plates.


Check out Godland’s new single here. 


Godlands Hellraiser Tour Dates

Sat 22 Sep Listen Out, Melbourne
Sun 23 Sep Listen Out, Perth
Thu 27 Sep The Foundry, Christchurch
Fri 28 Sep Static Nightclub, Hamilton
Sat 29 Sep Listen Out, Sydney
Sun 30 Sep Listen Out, Brisbane
Mon 1 Oct Listen In, Adelaide
Wed 10 Oct DK Pool Club, Bathurst
Fri 12 Oct Platinum Nightclub, Gold Coast
Sat 13 Oct The Helm, Sunshine Coast
Fri 19 Oct Chinese Laundry, Sydney
Sat 20 Oct Carmens, Miranda
Fri 26 Oct The Giddy Goat, Rockhampton
Sat 27 Oct The Grass Is Greener, Cairns
Fri 02 Nov Society Nightclub, Toowoomba
Sat 03 Nov This That, Newcastle
04-07 Nov It’s The Ship, Singapore
Sat 10 Nov The Grand Hotel, Wollongong
Sat 17 Nov The Grand Tasman, Port Lincoln
Fri 23 Nov Bohemian Beatfreaks, Inland Byron Bay
Sat 24 Nov The Office, Townsville
Sun 25 Nov Schoolies Festival, Victor Harbour
Fri 30 Nov Mr Wolf, Canberra
Sat 01 Dec The Homestead, Hobart
Fri 07 Dec The Brighton Hotel, Mandurah
Sat 08 Dec Beats In The Heat, Port Hedland
Sat 15 Dec Secret Show, TBA
Sat 22 Dec Violet Vibes Festival, Coffs Harbour
Wed 26 Dec Breakfest, Belvoir Amphitheatre, Perth
Sun 30 Dec Northern Bass, Mangawhai
Tue 01 Jan Eatons Hill NYD, Brisbane

Written by Newcastle Live

If it’s on in Newcastle, it’s on Newcastle Live

With this simple philosophy and a passion for local entertainment, Newcastle Live was born.

Newcastle Live is the Hunter’s premier online entertainment and lifestyle guide, a place devoted to all the great things happening in the region.

We’re your one-stop destination to find out what’s happening this weekend and keep up to date with the latest local entertainment and lifestyle news, reviews, features, and giveaways.

Newcastle Live boasts one of the Hunter’s most comprehensive gig and events guide updated every week, where you can easily submit your own event or register your venue.

Sign up to our free eNewsletter to receive the very best of Newcastle Live straight to your inbox every week!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.