Basics of Nonviolent Communication


Saturday, 31 July 2021

Basics of Nonviolent Communication

4:00pm - 5:30pm

From the organiser...

ONGO or Ongoing Practices of Non- Violent Communication changes your world.

Do you find yourself unhappy, screaming at yourself or others, confused, anxious, depressed or struggling to communicate in the way you would like. If you answered yes to any of the above, then please come along and have a look at how Nonviolent communication can help you.

Marshall Rosenberg’s foundational book, Nonviolent Communication: A Language of Life. Rosenberg outlines a scenario of a mother who was frustrated with her son for leaving socks lying around. Rather than scold her son judgmentally, in two short sentences, she was able to use all four basic NVC components of observation, feelings, needs, and requests:
“[Observations] Felix, when I see two balls of soiled socks under the coffee table and another three next to the TV, [Feelings] I feel irritated because [Needs] I am needing more order in the rooms that we share in common. [Request] Would you be willing to put your socks in your room or in the washing machine?”

The request should make it clear exactly what the requestor is asking for from the other person, in order to enrich the lives of both parties.

To validate that the speaker has been heard, NVC Certified Trainer, Alright, advises that before making an action request such as putting away the socks, the speaker might also make a connection request, such as, “Would you tell me what you’re hearing is important to me here? I just want to know if I got that across.”

Based on the other person’s response, the speaker can learn whether their needs and requests were indeed heard.

1. Observations: Without any judgment, observe what others are doing that you like or do not like.
2. Feelings: Say how you feel when you observe this action.
3. Needs: State the important needs that are connected to those feelings.
4. Requests: Make a specific request that might help attend to those needs.

Offered at No-Charge as a Service to the Women of the World.
Reservations Essential:

GLOBAL TIME ZONES
Sydney, Sat, 31 Jul at 4:00 pm
Perth, Sat, 31 Jul at 2:00 pm
Auckland, Sat, 31 Jul at 6:00 pm
Rio de Janeiro, Sat, 31 Jul at 3:00 am
New York, Sat, 31 Jul at 2:00 am
San Francisco, Fri, 30 Jul at 11:00 pm
Rome, Sat, 31 Jul at 8:00 am
London, Sat, 31 Jul at 7:00 am
Singapore, Sat, 31 Jul at 2:00 pm
Corresponding UTC Sat, 31 Jul at 06:00

Facilitator:
Tracey Steddy
Ongo / Nonviolent communication changed my life…from someone who ran away from any conflict to someone who can speak up. I also used to scream and shout if I couldn’t reverse park. One time I screamed and banged doors because my husband bought the wrong flavoured yogurt! (I was being violent towards myself). I didn’t know how to express my feelings and needs in a connective way, both with myself and others. I am now in tune with my feelings and needs and I no longer scream, shout and bang doors.
My relationships are a lot better as a result.

This is what someone else wrote. “There is not a single aspect of my life that hasn’t improved thanks to nonviolent communication”. It’s true. It changes lives and is life-changing. It’s quite a surprise to notice how much of our experience lives in the way we communicate. With someone else, or with myself. An entire world to discover”.

Tracey is the Host of the: ONGO Non-Violent Communication Tribe