Lock-Up


Lock-Up

90 Hunter Street, Newcastle


Located in one of Newcastle’s most significant heritage buildings, The Lock-Up is a multidisciplinary contemporary arts space and inner city hub for creative thinking and doing.

Listed in the NSW Heritage Register, The Lock-Up was the Newcastle Police Station and lock up from 1861 until its closure in 1982.

The building includes a purpose built gallery space, rare heritage listed cells, an event and installation space in what was the former exercise yard, and an onsite apartment for multi-disciplinary residencies. Since opening as a cultural centre in 2007, The Lock-Up has welcomed over 50,000 visitors.In September 2014 The Lock-Up relaunched as a dedicated multi-disciplinary contemporary arts space and an inner city hub for creative thinking and doing.

Through curated artistic and public programming, The Lock-Up aims to stimulate and challenge audiences and to promote current, cross platform, experimental and diverse practice from local, national and international artists. The program includes contemporary art exhibitions, events, site-specific installation and performances, residencies, creative talks, workshops and a variety of activities designed to engage the arts community and the public and to encourage the sharing of ideas and creative vision.

The Lock-Up’s nationally renowned Artist in Residence (AIR) Program provides onsite accommodation, a work environment and community engagement opportunities for contemporary artists working across a broad range of disciplines.

Loading Map....

Upcoming Events at Lock-Up

Add to iCal

Wed 28 June
STITCHED UP


Thu 29 June
STITCHED UP


Fri 30 June
STITCHED UP


Sat 01 July
STITCHED UP


Wed 05 July
STITCHED UP


Thu 06 July
STITCHED UP


Fri 07 July
STITCHED UP


Sat 08 July
STITCHED UP


Wed 12 July
STITCHED UP


Thu 13 July
STITCHED UP


Fri 14 July
STITCHED UP


Sat 15 July
STITCHED UP


Wed 19 July
STITCHED UP


Thu 20 July
STITCHED UP


Fri 21 July
STITCHED UP


Sat 22 July
STITCHED UP


Wed 26 July
STITCHED UP


Thu 27 July
STITCHED UP


Fri 28 July
STITCHED UP


Sat 29 July
STITCHED UP


Wed 02 August
STITCHED UP


Thu 03 August
STITCHED UP


Fri 04 August
STITCHED UP


Sat 05 August
STITCHED UP


MORE VENUES SUBMIT A GIG OR EVENT VISIT THE GIG AND EVENT GUIDE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.