Morgan Evans is a Vanda and Young Finalist

Newcastle Live -


APRA AMCOS, Alberts and Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy Australia have announced local Morgan Evans as a finalist in their annual Vanda and Young Songwriting Competition. 

Evans’ song Like A Tornado joins stellar list of songs in the final from artists such as Georgi Kay, Lior, Nova and the Experience, Andy Bull, Husky and Meg Mac.

The Vanda and Young Songwriting Competition is one of the world’s most prestigious songwriting competitions, supporting talented songwriters whilst raising much-needed funds for music therapy.

The winner of the 2014 Vanda and Young Songwriting Competition will join the illustrious company of past Vanda and Young Songwriting Competition winners – Megan Washington, Kimbra and The Preatures.

Chair of APRA AMCOS Jenny Morris said;

“It seems such an easy way to raise funds … just charge $50 per entry per song. Until you factor in the talent component. This competition attracts the best of the best from around the globe. It took that talent plus time and effort on the part of the songwriters to produce this incredible mélange of music. Again the music industry shows its heart and again the less fortunate among us will benefit.”

Full list of finalists

All The Lights – Molly & Reuben (Molly Apirana)
Any Other Way – Andy McGarvie Band
Baby I Am Nobody Now – Andy Bull
Barrier -Juliet Oswell
Beautiful Mess – Paige Valentine
Diamond Sheets – Madeleine Brooks
Fortress – Esther Sparkes
Girlfriend – Streets of Laredo (Dave Gibson)
Hands Shake – Livi Mulholland
Heartbrokenly In Love – Mogadishu Family Band (Eric Fortaleza)
Henry – Loren Kate
Hide – Little May
Hollow – Hayley Warner
Honey -Olympia
Honey, Do You Know The Way Back Home? – Jack Carty
I Love You More Marley Carter
In The Water – Sitara (Erin Fowler)
Ipswich – Georgi Kay
Jennifer Lawrence – Nova and the Experience (James Buckingham)
Kansas – Gang of Youths (Dave Le’aupepe)
Like A Tornado – Morgan Evans
Lullaby -Lisa Salvo
Mama, Say – Jesse Will
Middle Of A Riot – The Stoops (Matt Beaton)
Midnight Hour – Hannah Robinson
Mountain Lion – George Byrne
My Darlin’ Girl – The Audreys (Tristan Goodall)
My Grandfather – Lior
On My Own – Lucy Neville
Poison Drum – Gang of Youths (Dave Le’aupepe)
Poking Tongues – New Reptiles (Paul Gauvin)
Pull The Trigger – Apes (Lachlan Hodgson)
Rattlesnake Preacher – Krista Schmeling
Return To (feat. Tom Snowdon) – #1 Dads (Tom Iansek)
Roll Of The Top – Bullhorn (Simon Ward)
Roll Up Your Sleeves – Meg Mac
Roses – Lucy Mason
Run For Your Life – Louis Schoorl
Scum – Peta & The Wolves
Sirens – De̊ǰa (Rromarin)
Springtime Sun – Domenica
St Joan – Husky
Struggle Town – Sarah Aarons
The Records Flawed – The Delta Riggs (Michael Tramonte)
The River Song – Clancye Milne
Twin Rivers – Big Scary (Tom Iansek)
Under Water – Penelope Austin
Undone – Roberto De Sa and Alex Hope
Yeah Yeah – The Ninjas (Joshua Stewart)

If it's on in Newcastle, it's on Newcastle Live

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.